Lo Linkert 1923 – 2002(?)

I have no idea where I found this book.  Well, I assume in a used book store, as there is a penciled price on the title page.  As you can see from the next photo, there is no ISBN.  The book was published in 1993 in Germany.

I think we have all seen a variation on the cover cartoon.  Usually from some type of motivational blurb.  It would be nice to think that  Linkert was the original cartoonist.

My German is only as good as Google© translate.  So here is their translation, or maybe transliteration.

Linkert LO’S BEST CARTOONS
Is a compilation of his best cartoons published around the world.
Lo is a born winner countries (Hilchenback), the 1956 Remote addiction overwhelmed, he emigrated to Vancouver in Canada, where he established himself and his family a new life. He soon found his cartoons for customers in Canada, America, Australia to Japan and many other countries. Lo Auszeichnangen won for his humor in Canada, Belgium, France, Italein, Puerto Rico, Bulgaria, Yugoslavia and Japan. “Best Cartoons” is Lo’s twenty-second book. As golf became his hobby srstes, published ten books on this subject, some in German. Lo is the father of “Dimples,” the golf ball with human feelings.
Sine cartoons published in Germany in many magazines such as listening to, hearing and seeing TV, chocolate, Golf Magazine and many other magazines, his life is playing golf and drawing cartoons. So even his car license plate reads “GOLF2N” (Golftoon). Cartoons have helped him to the great freedom he sought for so long.

In issue number 76, December 1987, of the CARTOONIST PROfiles, there is an autobiographical article by Lo Linkert.  I have skimmed the highlights.

But first, this introductory cartoon and message from the article.

Now the highlights.

Born November 23, 1923 in Hilchenbach, Westphalia, Germany.   In school he enjoyed art, put up with history and geography, and hated everything else.  At fourteen started work in a factory, eventually joining the Paratroopers.  Serious wound, August 26, 1944, St. Lo, Normandy when a grenade blew out his left lung.  It gets a bit confusing here, but evidently he married his current wife, Inge in December 1944.  He was hospitalized for the wound, and did caricatures of doctors, nurses and patients.  He also entertained the wounded and nurses with floor shows, chalk talks and caricatures.  A few weeks later he was in a Canadian POW camp  in Wittmundhaven, where he continued to do caricatures for cigarettes, becoming rich (in cigarettes).  From the article I have the following quote.

“…the commander asked me to do a portrait of him.  He loved it so much and sent me home the next morning.  I was the first free man out of 60,000, and I learned to love my former enemies.  We were treated much better by them than by our own officers.  That’s when I decided to go to Canada as soon as possible.”

His wife was in the Soviet sector, but they eventually connected.  He continued working his talents in Germany, until 1956 when they emigrated to Canada.  Unfortunately, his fame had not preceded him.  They spent a long dry time  He got a job as an illustrator and commercial artist for a large department store, while working on his cartoons at night.  Another quote.

“The worst job I ever had was drawing a $20,000 chandelier!  This almost drove me crazy.  Never, ever accept a job drawing a chandelier—dig a ditch instead.”

He continued to develop cartoons, eventually amassing 5000, which along with market research started to pay off in commissions.  He gives generous credit to his wife, Inge , “…who has stuck with me through thick and thin.  She raised three lovely children of which we’re very proud.”  Their first child, Colleen was born during these times.  They now (1987) have three children

He is an avid golfer, as is his wife.  His handicap is 8, hers is 24.  Another quote.

“I created ‘Dimples’, the humanized golf ball.  Dimples appears in all my golf books, on pins, towels , coasters and on key rings.  My nickname is Dimples also.”

Another quote from this article on the various strips he has created.

“I have tried to become syndicated—so far with very little success.  My one-panel attempts were “How Come?”, “The Almighty Dollar”, The Rhubarbs”, “Dog’s Best Friend”, An Apple a Day”, “Fritz Schnibble”:, and :”Lo and Behold”.  The last one is captionless….In the meantime I have decided to remain a gag cartoonist as long as there are magazines who have not lost their sense of humor, and readers who love to laugh, or till the computers kick us off the drawing board.  (A terrible thought!)

He ends the article with some advice for new cartoonists, and his thoughts on his adopted country.

“I’m sure there are many better cartoonists in Canada who could have made it in this business, but the rejection slips killed them too early.  It isn’t necessarily the best cartoonist who succeeds—it’s the one who doesn’t give up!…Work fast because speed gives you a distinct style.  Slow lines look stiff…Last but not least, thank the Lord that we are free people in North America, that we have freedom of choice.  We can laugh at ourselves, poke fun at our leaders without going to the salt mines, and can have the choice of becoming a millionaire or a bum.  Good Luck!”

CARTOONIST PROfiles is an interesting magazine.  If you get a chance to pick up a copy, do so.

Here are some of the single panel cartoons Linkert mentioned as found in CARTOONIST PROfiles.

I did not see “Stamptoons” in his bio, but CARTOONIST PROfiles included this one, so shall I.

A cartoonist, Mark Anderson, has a page on his blog, Andertoons, with a bio of Linkert   in which he provides the following:

Over time his submissions were accepted by every major market.  Died  2002 in Victoria, BC.  Twenty four books, 1500 greeting cards.

I came across an interesting site by a gentleman whose grandparents were friends with the Linkert’s.  He has some photos, and comments from a few people, one of whom says he is a son of Linkert.  There are questions, but the answers are rather disjointed.

There is another site, History for Sale, which deals in Autographs and Manuscripts, and from which I excerpted the following:

Linkert eventually produced 24 books, 4 calendars and 1500 greeting cards while winning 12 international cartoonists’ awards. His cartoon characters included Dimples, the humanized golf ball

The comment about “Dimples, the humanized golf ball,” got my attention.  Since Linkert had also mentioned it.  I looked on the internet, but could find no information about a humanized golf ball cartoon, but did find a ‘Dimples the golf ball’ site where a gentleman named Tony Ponchak has a system for teaching kids to play golf.  Here is the site if you wish to learn more.

On his blog, Vintage Sleaze, Jim Linderman states that John Newbern, Publisher of Sex-to-Sexty, attributed cartoons by “Casa Nova” to Lo Linkert.  I looked at issue #18, obviously published during the “Laugh-In” craze, and found several cartoons by Casa Nova.  However, the list of cartoonists has no Casa Nova, but does have Lo Linkert.  See below.  Linkert is fourth from the bottom, on the left.

I guess Linkert did not mind being listed as one of the cartoonists, but used a pseudonym on the actual cartoon.

From a Yahoo group post there is a comment by Rollin “Speedy” Zawistowski who says that Linkert was in a POW camp in Canada.  Possibly he is confused on the matter.

Zawistowski also thinks that Linkert died in Vancouver, BC.

Well let us look at some of Linkert’s work.  First as Casa Nova.

.

Well, now look at cartoons by Lo Linkert as Lo Linkert.

Someday I am going to make a list of how many times I find this cartoon by other Cartoonists.  Right after I make the list of the Cartoonists who do the Writers on strike, walking the picket line with blank signs.

Linkert certainly hits it right on the head with this one.   No matter where you visit, there is always a gift shop before the exit.

Ah, yes.  Reminds me of a drive into the back side of Death Valley.  My wife was driving, I got to look out and down.  Way down.

And, speaking of the desert.

Hope you enjoyed these cartoons and the information, albeit sketchy, on Lo Linkert.

Ted

About visualhumor

Enjoy viewing and collecting visual humor from around the world.
This entry was posted in Canadian Cartoons, Single Panel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Lo Linkert 1923 – 2002(?)

  1. Thank you for posting this. I remember Mr. Linkert & family very well. He was a kind and funny man who used to play cards with my folks. When he took breaks I wold always ask him to show me how to draw. I owe this man a lot and miss him.

  2. Buchschacher Irma aus Zürich.Inge du kennst mich von Elisabeh und Kurt Heusser in mission..Gib mir eine Antwort da ich nicht gut Enlisch kann. Würde mich freuen oder Collin deine Tochter.i Love you. says:

    Hi Inge .I Hopp you are feel good. Give me a Mail .I love you Irma Buchschacher fromm Zürich CH.

  3. Tom Sloan says:

    Lo Linkert was drawing Stamptoons for Linns Stamp news. I also drew stamp cartoons for them as well. Sometime around 1981 they suddenly stopped publishing both of us and Lo wrote me a letter that stated, “They just gave up on me (Stamptoons) after 8 years without telling me. Well, it’s not called funny business for nothing.”
    I still have his letter. I wish he drew a cartoon on it too! But, he was a good guy. RIP Lo

  4. Morgan says:

    Have you any question about my opa!! Lo linkert feel free to contact me!!!

  5. Peter says:

    Wow! Memories of Lo. I meet him when I was in my teens. I visited him at his home in Coquitlam (outside of Vancouver. BC). I showed him many of my cartoons and he was very encouraging. He drew a caricature of myself back then. Wish I had seen him more and been in touch more.

  6. Hannah says:

    Hi Ted, I thank you for publishing this article. I’m Lo Linkerts great grand daughter his daughter Colleen is my grandmother. Every so often I read this article proud of who my family has come from and the struggle my Opa went through thank you again it’s one of few thing I have to remember him by.

    • visualhumor says:

      Hi Hanna,
      I apologize for taking so long to comment, but I wanted you to know how much I appreciate your note. I also found Lo’s achievements in surviving conflict, confinement and then starting over in a new country to be an inspiration for us all. Again, thank you for your comment.
      Ted

    • visualhumor says:

      I am pleased to provide his cartoons. Sounds like he has a great family. Thank you for your comments.-Ted

Leave a comment