GLEN BAXTER

Glen Baxter and “The Impending Gleam”

I do not know just where I picked up this book.  I see it has a 1981 copyright but I do not think I have had it that long.  From Baxter’s website I see that he will be in Paris next month, at GALERIE MARTINE et THIBAULT DE LA CHATRE 4 rue de SAINTONGE PARIS 75003.  At least that is what his site says, so he must be alive and kicking, no matter how old this book is.

Instead of trying to reinvent the wheel, I will copy and paste the following from Wikipedia.

Glen Baxter (born 4 March 1944), nicknamed Colonel Baxter, is an English cartoonist, noted for his absurdist drawings and an overall effect often resembling literary nonsense.[1]

Born in Leeds, Baxter was trained at the Leeds College of Art. His images and their corresponding captions employ art and language inspired by pulp fiction and adventure comics with intellectual jokes and references. His simple line-drawings often feature cowboysgangstersexplorers and schoolchildren, who utter incongruous intellectual statements regarding art and philosophy.

Thank you, Wikipedia.

Here is a site with a whole bunch of images of his work.

Here is a 2003 podcast of about 45 minutes in length.

If you wish, there is an earlier fifteen minute audio interview from 1983.  There is a notice about not redistributing, so I will just add the link and you can listen.  Remember, no redistributing.  Also, he makes reference in print to Baxter’s background in Leeds, Belgium.  My geography is probably fairly shaky so maybe the UK and Belgium both have a Leeds from which Baxter hails.  I would lean toward the UK Leeds, as he spent time there studying at the Leeds College of Art.  But, as always, I have been confused and wrong on other items, so why not this one.  However, after listening to the actual interview, I believe that this Leeds in in the UK.

Our Glen Baxter is often confused with another Glen Baxter in web searches.  The other guy is Canadian, and a cloths horse.  ‘Nuff said.  Our Baxter should also not be confused with the dog Baxter, hero of the movie of the same name.

From this book, I see he has eight other books in publication.  My copy also states that “Many of the drawings in this book are in private and public collections, including those of the Arts Council of Great Britain, the Victoria and Albert Museum, and the Chase Manhattan Bank.”  Said bank has been bought and sold many times.  I think it is now called “Chase”, but that was last week.  I would be surprised if the drawings made it through all the upheaval.  They might even have been shredded by mistake…

Anyway, on to some of the drawings.  Well, almost on to, as I want to say a word about Wimples.  Well, many words.  Baxter seems to have a thing about wimples, as the following four cartoons show.  I was confused about the cartoons, as I thought they looked like dunce caps.  So, I turned to our old standby, Wikipedia, and found that :

 “A wimple is a garment worn around the neck and chin, and which usually covers the head. Its use developed among women in early medieval Europe.”

Nothing about it being conical.  I guess if I had thought about it before the cartoons, I would have thought that a wimple was something nuns wore, and I had never seen a conical one.  Of course, there is the Sally Field variety of nun, and I guess her wimple might have been, if not conical, at least bouffant.  Oh, and speaking of Wikipedia and nuns, there is a picture on that site with a nun with a wimple showing a nipple.  Of course, you will follow the link for the wimple and not the nipple.

Well, here are the wimple, not nipple, cartoons.

Well, enough of that.  On to the subject of education.  The following cartoon deals, I assume, with the public schools in the UK, which are really private.  I wonder what the non-private schools are called?  My school days were sixty or so years ago, and I can not remember anything about the food served at Tucson High School.   Maybe my mind is repressing the memory.  Anyway, here is the next cartoon.

And, speaking of food, or more specifically, Tea…

Well, let us move across the pond.

And, speaking of Annette, we will move onto the fairer sex and the last cartoon.

Mister Romance.

Hope you enjoyed them.

Ted

About visualhumor

Enjoy viewing and collecting visual humor from around the world.
This entry was posted in Single Panel, UK Cartoons and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

