Neil Matterson’s “Is He Biting Again?”

 I saw a story on a Television “news” program this morning (June 1, 2012) about Military Mothers breastfeeding, while in their uniforms.  Since the program was muted, I did not hear what it was all about. However, it did get me to thinking about the cartoon book, “Is He Biting Again?” by Neil Matterson.

 The book was published in 1984, but seems to be as relevant today as two plus decades earlier.

 The introduction to the book follows.

 

In the 1983 book, “Cartoonists of Australia” by Richard Rae, the section on Neil Matterson says that he is a Freelance cartoonist who works from a home studio in a Melbourne, Australia suburb. Interestingly enough, Matterson is quoted as remembering the rejection slips from Jack Hughes, former editor of Australian Post, as early encouragement, as they always had some positive item about the rejected cartoon. Later in the article is this great quote, “Drawing cartoons is fun. A heck of a lot of fun. Getting them accepted is a different story.”

 Neil has many strips and political cartoons and we will visit them in later posts. However, for now let’s take a look at some of the cartoons from the book, “Is He Biting Again?”

As I said earlier, he has many strips and collections, along with his political cartoons.  I look forward to sharing them.

About visualhumor

Enjoy viewing and collecting visual humor from around the world.
This entry was posted in Australian Cartoons and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Neil Matterson’s “Is He Biting Again?”

  1. Lease says:

    I read this book as a child of a breastfeeding mother, now I am in my thirties and nursing my own child, I would love to find a copy of this book, which may be the only breastfeeding humour book in the world! I couldn’t remember the name and found your site looking for it. Thank you for including this hilarious and frankly, important work.

    • visualhumor says:

      Hi Lease,
      I am glad that you enjoyed my post on Neil Matterson and his book. While I say ‘his’ book, the 1984 copyright is held by Neil and Frances, which is proper, as she provides the material for this book. I have several extra copies, and would be more than happy to send one to you, free, gratis and for nothing, in appreciation, as it were, for taking the time to comment on this post. That is if you live in the US. Other countries might require some paperwork, etc.-Ted

      • Bridget Fulton says:

        Hi Ted
        I too had this book – my husband gave it to me the Christmas I was feeding my first child 🙂 I too loved the book and a couple of years ago learnt it to a friend’s daughter and unfortunately when I asked for my breastfeeding books to be returned it appeared they had moved house and now can’t find them. I see that you have some extra copies and was wondering if you would be able to send me one. I do live in Jersey, UK and would be happy to pay for both book and postage of course.regards Bridget

      • visualhumor says:

        Hi Bridget,
        And that is why I do not loan my books.
        I am sorry that you lost your books, but can certainly replace the Neil Matterson one.
        I have your email and will contact you outside of this blog for an address, etc.
        Ted

  2. Lease says:

    Hi Ted,

    I am so surprised and appreciative of your reply! I only saw it because I remembered I’d been looking for this book and showed my Mum to jog her memory. I live in Australia, but will send you an email as my Mum has an US address we can use. This is amazing, thank you so much, I enjoy your blog very much.

    • visualhumor says:

      Hi Lease,
      I will email you off site, and get that address.
      Interestingly Another reader had the same problem. As I mentioned to her, THAT is why I do not loan out my books.
      Ted

  3. Pingback: PETER van de WIEL | visualhumor

  4. Pingback: Happy Working Mom : Tips & Tricks – Scratches of Mind

Leave a Reply

